Helpless in a Crumbling World

When you hear about the many horrors of the world, do you ever feel completely helpless? It’s as if everything is falling apart around you, but in your life, you are just fine. I have an amazing life, a wonderful family, and incredible husband. Is it wrong that I feel guilty for having all these novelties in life? 

 There are people around the world being sold into slavery still to this day. It is 2016 and still this world is sick. I understand that it has never been at peace while humans have existed. I realize that power hungry people have always been there in some way, wanting control over small factions or entire populations. Men, women, and children around the world are experiencing genocide, starvation, and dehumanization as they are raped, tortured, or killed. So now that we are becoming more aware of these tragedies and sickening facts, what can we do? What can I do? Go to war? Fight fire with fire? It does not help. So if that doesn’t work, what will? Fight hatred with love? But how? I wish I had all the answers. I wish that I could wake up one day and just know what needed to be done and how to save this world from itself.

Traveling has absolutely turned me into a more democratic, humanistic person. How could I not be? How could I care more about one population of people that live in the United States versus everyone else? Are we not all human? 

“We need to take care of our people first before we take care of others,” people will say. People like this can’t have ever known or loved people outside of their small world they call home. How could you possibly care about one life over the life of another? 

 The US has problems. I know. We have many problems with equality and race that need to be addressed, and need to be changed. However so does the entire world. It kills me when I feel sad or ungrateful because good lord what in the hell do I have to be upset about? I live my life like a queen. I have everything and more I need in life and still I want more. How utterly selfish of me to even think that way when women of my age have virtually nothing to their names. No money, no choices, no freedom. I live such a full and happy life. I go where I want, I do what I want, I love who I want. It is so unfair to me that not everyone can live this way. What can I do? What can we do, as a whole, to better the lives of those who live on the same planet as us? How can we all become one and begin to truly see life through each others eyes and understand and empathize with what we go through on a day to day basis? I have hope that one day the world will heal. That one day the pain will end and with that suffering. Perhaps a false hope. A far off, idealistic thought that will not come to pass. Yet, still I hope.

Yes, I am American, but more so, I am human, and I don’t want to see this world fall apart. I want to see us come together.

Leave a Reply

